Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University

Elementary Education Student Organizations

Elementary Education majors have a variety of student organizations within the College of Education in which they may be eligible for participation. 

College of Education Student Council:  The purpose of this organization is to promote and foster better relationships among the students and faculty of the College of Education. Applications are available each semester. Final selection is based on interviews. To be eligible students must be enrolled in the College of Education with a 2.50 grade point average.
Advisor:  Rachel Potts, rachel.potts@okstate.edu

Education Ambassadors:  Ambassadors are exemplary students chosen to represent the College of Education at university-sponsored events. Ambassadors are knowledgeable of all majors, minors, scholarships, organizations, and resources available to students in the college.  Applications will be accepted and reviewed each spring. Applicants must be enrolled in the College of Education and must maintain at least a 3.0 grade point average.
Advisor: Meredith Shepard, meredith.shepard@okstate.edu

Elementary Educators of Tomorrow (EET):  This club’s purpose is to promote academic excellence, unite and provide support for elementary educators of Oklahoma State University, encourage involvement in elementary education both at the university and community levels, and to promote opportunities for the personal and professional development of its members.   Any student who has expressed interest in elementary education and early childhood education majors is eligible to be a member.
Advisor:  Amanda Grimes, grimesa@okstate.edu

Kappa Delta Pi:  Kappa Delta Pi, International Honor Society in Education, founded by Dr. William Bagley in 1911 at the University of Illinois, was established to foster excellence in education and promote fellowship among those dedicated to teaching. The founders chose the name from the Greek words to represent knowledge, duty, and power. Pioneering from its beginning by including women as well as men, Kappa Delta Pi grew from a local chapter to the international organization it is today, with a chapter at OSU.
Advisor: Jill Metzger, jill.metzger@okstate.edu and John Weaver, john.weaver@okstate.edu

Kappa Kappa Iota:  A professional organization for educators that promotes the advancement of education by providing an effective network for the exchange of education and teaching practices by educators.  Their National Philanthropy is: The Kempe Children’s Foundation.  OSU's Campus Chapter of Kappa Kappa Iota participates in a variety of activities on campus and around Stillwater. Kappa Kappa Iota is eligible to any sophomore through senior students who has an interest in education.
Advisor: Julie Angle, 405-744-9505, julie.angle@okstate.edu

Student Oklahoma Education Association (SOEA):  SOEA is a pre-professional organization and affiliated with the National Education Association. SOEA is for students looking for careers in the educational field. Their purpose is to make members more aware of the responsibilities and careers available in the teaching profession.  To qualify, students need to h ave an interest in teaching as a profession.
Advisor:  Sue Parsons, 405- 744-8104, sue.parsons@okstate.edu