Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University

Pre-Service Teachers Participate in OSU SpeedFest Competition

Thursday, April 28, 2016

Oklahoma State University pre-service teachers were among those participating in OSU SpeedFest this past weekend. Sponsored by the OSU College of Engineering Architecture and Technology (CEAT), SpeedFest is a competition for high school students and college students to showcase aircraft design.

OSUTeach students Brittni Foster, Morgan Asbill and Madisyn McCurry, and elementary education major Christina Hartman participated as part of a Boeing Foundation grant “OSU Teachers that Dream, Design, Build, Learn about, and Teach Aviation” led by College of Education faculty Juliana Utley (mathematics education) and Steve Marks (aviation education). The grant also provided support for 23 classroom teachers to be a part of OSU Speedfest and build curriculum for their classrooms based on the experience.

Utley and Marks are working to impact students by capitalizing on their natural interest in aviation and space during this important phase in their career development. The grant supports a five-phase program to give hands-on aerospace experience to teachers and undergraduate students, including participating in OSU Speedfest. 

In addition, elementary education major Tashina Morgan and secondary education science major Josh Encinas were part of a team through the NASA Oklahoma Space Grant Consortium’s Mission to Planet Earth (MPTE) workshop.

Learn more about STEM education related projects and opportunities through the OSU Center for Research on STEM Teaching and Learning at