Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University

COE Faculty Excellence Award Winners Announced

Wednesday, May 11, 2016

Dr. Denni Blum, Dr. Al Carlozzi, Dr. Bert Jacobson and Dr. Sue Parsons have been selected as 2016 College of Education Faculty Excellence Award winners.

Blum, an associate professor in social foundations, is the recipient of the Graduate Faculty Excellence Award. This award recognizes exemplary achievement in leadership, scholarship, professional involvement and university and community service, especially as it relates to involvement with graduate students.

The Leadership and Service Excellence Award is presented to Carlozzi. A Tulsa-based professor in counseling psychology, Carlozzi was selected thanks to his significant and meritorious achievement in leadership and/or service.

Jacobson, an OSU Regents Professor and the MB Seretean Endowed Professor in Wellness, was presented with the Faculty Research Excellence Award, recognizing outstanding and meritorious achievements in research. Faculty selected for the Research Excellence Award must demonstrate a record of past and continuing excellence in research with recognition nationally and internationally.

Parsons, who holds the Jacques Munroe Endowed Professorship in Literacy, is the recipient of the Teaching Excellence Award, which honors faculty who have evidenced significant and meritorious achievement in the instruction of students for a period of years and through ensuring the quality of the students’ classroom learning experience.

Each faculty excellence award winner receives a $500 award to their professional development account, a plaque and recognition on a permanent display in the Willard Hall lobby.