Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University

COE Students Recognized by National Sports Medicine Organization

Thursday, June 16, 2016

Oklahoma State University graduate students were recognized at the annual meeting of the American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM), the field's largest organization, held May 31-June 4 in Boston.

Doctoral student Garrett Hester won the 2016 Gatorade Sports Science Institute (GSSI) Young Scholar Travel Award.  GSSI is a prestigious institute committed to helping athletes optimize their health and performance through research and education.student with poster

Zach Pope, also a Ph.D. student in health and human performance, received the 2016 Delsys Student Travel Grant.  He was one of 10 recipients from more than 75 applicants.

“These are prestigious awards in our field and very competitive," said Dr. Jason DeFreitas, assistant professor in Health and Human Performance. “We are honored to have both of these students recognized.  It shows that the hard work and quality of research coming out of our laboratory is receiving national recognition.”

DeFreitas was also an invited speaker for the Symposium on Motor Control in Biomechanics.

Ph.D. student Jamie Clark was accepted into ACSM's Leadership and Diversity Training Program, which provides mentors to participants and supports them with funding to perform the necessary steps to remain involved with ACSM from student member to ACSM Fellowship.

OSU Regents Professor in Health and Human Performance Bert Jacobson and several recent and current graduate students presented research work at the annual conference. Hester, Pope and Clark were joined by Cameron Mackey, Larissa Boyd and Michelle Miller.