Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University

OSU Graduates Among 2018 Teacher of the Year Finalists

Monday, July 24, 2017

OK Teacher of the Year finalists, Dionne Liebl, Shala Marshall, Laura Smith and Colby McGeeSTILLWATER (July 24, 2017) – Twelve finalists were announced for Oklahoma’s next Teacher of the Year on July 10, at an Oklahoma State Department of Education summer conference. Among these 12 finalists are three Oklahoma State University alumnae, Dionne LieblShala Marshall and Laura Smith. Four teachers were also chosen for the Rising Star award, including OSU alumnus Colby McGee

The Oklahoma Teacher of the Year award recognizes men and women who have devoted their lives to teaching and making an impact on education. All finalists were selected after application packets were reviewed by a panel of experts.

Liebl graduated from OSU in 2000 with a degree in secondary education. She now teaches English at Deer Creek High School in Edmond, Oklahoma. She has been an educator for 17 years.

Marshall graduated from OSU with a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science in 1999, a Bachelor of Arts in Spanish in 2001 and a Master of Science in Teaching and Curriculum Leadership in 2002. Marshall teaches Spanish at Jenks High School in Jenks, Oklahoma. She has been an educator for 16 years.

Smith graduated from OSU with a Bachelor of Science in Music Education in 2002 and has served as band director for Byng Public Schools for nine years. Smith has been an educator for 15 years.

The Rising Star award is given to teachers who show amazing promise in their profession and are committed to making a brighter future for their students.

McGee graduated with a bachelor’s degree in agriculture education from OSU in 2015. He has taught agriculture at Allen Public Schools for two years.

The 2018 Oklahoma Teacher of the Year and Rising Star award will be revealed Sept. 19 at State Fair Park in Oklahoma City.