Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University

College of Education to Induct Hall of Fame Class June 7

Wednesday, June 5, 2013

(STILLWATER, Okla., June 5, 2013) – The Oklahoma State University College of Education is set to induct Dr. Terry Shaw and the late Dr. Daniel Selakovich into its Hall of Fame on June 7. The College will also recognize Dr. Michael Bradley and Dustin Devers as Rising Stars.

Hall of Fame induction is the highest honor bestowed by the College of Education, recognizing outstanding professional and personal achievements that have brought honor and distinction to the College.

Terry Shaw of Norman is a two-time graduate of Oklahoma State University, with a bachelor’s degree in biochemistry (1968) and an education doctorate (1977). Shaw enjoyed a career as an exceptional and innovative science educator at the K-12 and University levels. He taught middle school science in Arizona, Stillwater and Norman. He received numerous honors for teaching, including the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science Teaching and the National Environmental Education Teacher of the Year. Shaw also spent time on the OSU faculty and earned tenure as a professor at Kansas State University. Shaw was invited to work on the development team for the most widely-adopted hands-on science curriculum in the country, the Full Option Science System (FOSS), spending two years at the Lawrence Hall of Science at UC Berkley. In retirement, he continues to develop courses and provide professional development for FOSS.

Daniel Selakovich served as a professor in the College of Education from 1963-1990. He passed away on December 26, 2003. Selakovich received a bachelor’s degree in history from Western State College in Gunnison, Colo., in 1948. He continued his education, earning a Master’s in Political Science from Washington State University (1950), and he was awarded a Doctorate in Social Science Education from the University of Colorado (1962). Selakovich taught at Pueblo County High and what is now Wayne State University, in Wayne, Neb. In 1957, he became an assistant professor in social science education at West Texas State University in Canyon, Texas. At OSU, Selakovich taught undergraduate courses in social foundations of education and social studies methods. He also taught graduate classes in the sociology of education and directed the social foundations program. Selakovich wrote seven books, including The Schools and American Society, Social Studies for the Disadvantaged, The Supreme Court and Ethnicity in the Schools. Selakovich’s family will accept Hall of Fame induction on his behalf.

Shaw and Selakovich represent the 15th class of Hall of Fame inductees for the College of Education.

Annually, the College of Education Rising Star award is presented to young alumni whose lives and achievements demonstrate promise of future leadership and bring distinction to the college. 

Michael Bradley graduated from OSU with a bachelor’s degree in leisure studies (2005) and a Ph.D. in health, leisure and human performance (2012). He currently serves as an assistant professor at Eastern Kentucky University. While pursuing doctorate, Bradley served as a research assistant and field research coordinator at OSU, working with Dr. Lowell Caneday on the major grant focused on writing resource management plans for all of the state parks in Oklahoma. In 2011, Bradley received the Outstanding Graduate Assistant Award from the National Park and Recreation Association.

Dustin Devers earned a Bachelor of Science in Career and Technical Education from Oklahoma State University in 2009. Devers is currently employed by the Oklahoma Department of Career and Technology Education as a Program Specialist: Finance Cluster Team Leader, State Business Professionals of American and State DECA Advisor. Prior to joining the CareerTech office, Devers was a business technology instructor and leadership class advisor at Meridian Technology Center in Stillwater. In addition, Devers is a small business owner, operating Geekabytes, LLC, in Stillwater since 2006. He serves as Director of Web and Multimedia Services and Computer/Network Support Specialist.