September 9, 2019

MEMORANDUM

TO: Thomas Coon Paul Tikalsky
Kenneth Eastman Stephan Wilson

Glen Krutz

FROM: Gary D. Sandefur

Provost and Senior Vice President

SUBJECT: Excellence in Teaching Award for Adjunct Faculty – Call for Nominations

I am pleased to announce nominations are being requested for Year Two of the *Excellence in Teaching Award for Adjunct Faculty*. You may recall that a donor with a long history of service as a part-time, adjunct faculty member at Oklahoma State University worked with the OSU Foundation and a significant number of former students, friends and family to establish an endowment for an annual award recognizing excellence in teaching by adjunct faculty. One award will be presented each year, and the honoree will receive a one-time stipend of \$1,000 and a plaque presented at the annual University Awards Convocation. Last year's honoree was Dr. Tara Urich in the Spears School of Business.

For the purpose of this award, "Adjunct" is defined as a non-tenure track, temporary faculty member with three or more years of service to Oklahoma State and whose *primary* assignment is instruction. Additionally, given that teaching assignments for adjunct faculty often fluctuate from semester to semester due to course demand, eligible faculty could be employed less than full time in any given semester.

Please work with your leadership team and academic unit administrators to identify an adjunct faculty member from your college who is deserving of this award. The nomination packet should be based on instructional performance during the past three years and should include one letter of support from a colleague and one from a former student. Your nomination for this award is due to my office no later than the close of business on Friday, October 11.

This cadre of dedicated educators makes a very significant impact on the instructional mission at OSU, but often are not recognized for their valuable contributions in the classroom. As such, I am pleased we can provide this recognition for the impact they have on our students.

c: Jeanette Mendez Sheila Johnson Sheryl Tucker Randy Kluver Keith Garbutt Carlos Risco